About us

Connecting innovation and entrepreneurship with science and research

The Canberra Innovation Network (CBRIN) is a not-for-profit and launched in November 2014 on the back of a progressive local government and collaboration between Canberra’s world class education and research institutions, who now represent our Foundation Members.

Our mission is to empower entrepreneurs to make an impact and change the world. In doing so, we are strengthening the position of Canberra as a clever, connected, and creative city where entrepreneurs and businesses build on the city’s excellence in research and innovation to create social and economic benefits for all citizens.

We take pride in Canberra’s startup community and our programs are designed to enable budding entrepreneurs and SMEs to build on their ambition and reach their potential. We connect leading experts and mentors with founders and deliver world-class innovation programs uncovering ground-breaking ideas and solving real-world challenges.

We believe that entrepreneurs are everywhere, and our ethos is to help them uncover their potential.

Who we work with

Startups and
Business and
Creative Youth
and Students

Our team

Petr Adamek

Petr Adamek

Chief Executive Officer

Craig Davis

Craig Davis

General Manager – Growth Team

Sharyn Smith

Sharyn Smith

Chief Operations Officer

Irene Zhen

Program Manager

Hannah Hartgers

Program Manager

Hayley Maddox

Program Manager

Kelly Cruz

Collaboration Manager

Candace Rhind

Office Manager & EA to the CEO

Tash Kelly

Marketing and Communications Officer

Adam Clark

Reception and Event Support

Laura Croft

Marketing and Communications Support

Jack Cassidy Headshot

Jack Cassidy

Collaborative Innovation Officer

Shashank Bokil

Innovation Program Officer

Ben Garrett

Marketing and Collaboration Support

Belinda Stokes

Reception and Events Support

Our board

Petr Adámek

Chief Executive Officer

Dr Edward Bertram

Australian National University

Sylvia Tulloch

CBRIN Advisory Committee

Christine Robertson

Canberra Institute of Technology

Annabel Griffin

CBRIN Advisory Committee

Kathy Dunn


Professor Lucy Johnston

University of Canberra

Founding Members

CIT Logo

Gold Partners

Supported by